#246 Get Shorty

I was already aware of the title when I picked up this book (although I’m not sure whether that was from the book or the film with the same name – not that I’ve seen it) but wasn’t entirely sure what to expect from it.
What I did get was a pleasant surprise (especially after the last couple of books being distinctly lacklustre). Get Shorty follows Chilli Palmer, who at the beginning of the novel we encounter as a loan shark chasing a debt from a client (Leo) who is thought to be dead. The search takes him from Florida to Las Vegas and then on to Los Angeles where (I wouldn’t exactly say a chance encounter, since he turns up in his house in the middle of the night to enquire about said customer) he meets film director Harry Zimm and his sort of girlfriend Karen Flores, an out of work actress both of whom have ties to fictional Hollywood superstar Martin Weir. Chilli (who already has an interest in films) continues to pursue Leo while getting in further with Harry and Karen, developing his own movie idea and at the same time becoming involved with Harry’s own debt collecting loan sharks.
I don’t really want to say much more without giving any of the story away – I really liked this book and would definitely recommend it. It does seem like most of my longer entries are books about which I want to have a bit of a moan !

Leave a Reply

